Tag Archives: Spinefarm Records

SAUL – Rise As Equals

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: October 23, 2020

Genre: Alternative Metal, Hard Rock

Label: Spinefarm Records

The Sutherland, Iowa based alternative metal/hard rock outfit SAUL have finally released their debut album, Rise As Equals, three years since forming in 2017. The new release marks the follow-up to last year’s Aeons EP. Since their previous EP, the band has come into their sound by pulling from distinct aspects and eras from all over the rock and metal spectrum. SAUL’s debut was co-produced by bandmates and siblings, Blake and Zach Bedsaul, alongside music producer Chris Dawson.

Continue reading SAUL – Rise As Equals

Q&A With Tyler Bryant

By Kyle Erickson

Blues rockers Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown just released their fourth album, Pressure, on October 16th. The new album is a great mix of songs that elevates their song-writing skills and will satisfy long-time fans of the band as well. I had the pleasure of interviewing lead singer, songwriter, and guitarist Tyler Bryant himself about the new album and how it came about.

Continue reading Q&A With Tyler Bryant

Q&A With SAUL’s Zach Bedsaul

By Samuel Stevens

Zach Bedsaul, the guitarist of the alternative metal/hard rock quartet SAUL, was beyond gracious enough to answer a few questions with me about their forthcoming debut album Rise As Equals, the album’s writing process, the album’s collaborations, and some of the upcoming plans for the band when they have a bit of downtime amidst the COVID-19 pandemic.

Continue reading Q&A With SAUL’s Zach Bedsaul

Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown – Pressure

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: October 16, 2020

Genre: Hard Rock, Blues Rock, Rock

Label: Spinefarm Records

Nashville blues rocker Tyler Bryant -along with his bandmates in The Shakedown- are back with their fourth full length album, Pressure. The new album was written and recorded in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic and looks to take you away from the craziness in the world for as long as this band of friends can with these thirteen mesmerizing tracks. Frontman Tyler Bryant, guitarist Graham Whitford -the son of Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford- drummer Caleb Crosby, and co-producer Roger Alan Nichols (Larkin Poe, Paramore, The Veronicas) all hunkered themselves down at Tyler Bryant’s home studio in Nashville during the quarantine to write and record the follow up to their critically acclaimed album Truth & Lies, that released in the Summer of 2019.

Continue reading Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown – Pressure

Ihsahn – Pharos EP

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: September 11, 2020

Genre: Progressive Metal, Progressive Rock

Label: Spinefarm Records, Candlelight Records

Ihsahn, best known for his work in the Norwegian black metal band Emperor, has returned with his latest EP, Pharos. It’s his second EP release of 2020 that follows Telemark, which was released on February 14th. Unlike on Telemark, which seen Ihsahn return to his black metal roots, Pharos shows a lot more of Ihsahn’s creative exploration into a progressive rock and metal sound with some elements pulled from all over the musical spectrum like classical, jazz, and pop. The EP features three brand new original compositions that are accompanied by two covers, A-Ha’s “Manhattan Skyline” and Portishead’s “Roads.” The EP was recorded before the COVID-19 lockdown at this home studio with additional drums laid down by Tobias Solbakk, of the band In Vain at Juke Joint Studio.

Continue reading Ihsahn – Pharos EP