Category Archives: Single Reviews

RØSÉ – Are You Tired? (Single)

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: September 8, 2020

Genre: Post-Hardcore, Rock

Label: Independent

The American singer-songwriter Hannah Collins, or now better known under the moniker RØSÉ, has released her debut single to the world with absolutely no help from a record label. Her first ever single under her new project is titled “Are You Tired?” and it debuted at number two on the iTunes rock charts. Additionally, the single also received immediate airplay on SiriusXM’s Octane. The production on “Are You Tired?” was handled by both Madatracker and Devin Bronson, who has previously worked with artists such as Sum 41, Avril Lavigne, and Demi Lovato.

Continue reading RØSÉ – Are You Tired? (Single)

Baby FuzZ – We’re All Gonna Die!!! (Single)

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: August 7, 2020

Genre: Alt. Rock, Pop

Label: Blanket Fort

The American singer-songwriter Baby FuzZ, the alter ego of the accomplished Sterling Fox is back with his latest single, “We’re All Gonna Die!!!” Just four years ago he was on his way to be one of the more successful songwriters within the pop music scene writing many hits with the likes of Britney Spears, Madonna, Lana Del Rey, Adam Lambert, Avicii, Adam Levine, Lindsey Sterling, and many other artists. However, shortly after the 2016 presidential election in the United States, he quit music abruptly and moved to Montreal, Quebec for approximately the next year. Fast forward to 2018, he reemerged under the new persona known as Baby FuzZ and began dropping singles off his 2019 debut album, Plastic Paradise. Now 2020 has pretty well rolled on by, and has seen Baby FuzZ readying his second release, Welcome To The Future, which is due out later this fall on his own record label Blanket Fort.

Continue reading Baby FuzZ – We’re All Gonna Die!!! (Single)

The Bare Minimum – Scars and Stripes (Single)

the art for the bare minimums single scars and stripes

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: August 21, 2020

Genre: Punk Rock

Label: Independent

The Toronto punk rockers The Bare Minimum have released their newest single, “Scars and Stripes,” from quarantine. The Bare Minimum formed ten years ago by vocalist/guitarist Cam Gray, bassist Donnie Hopper, guitarist Mich Hutchinson, and drummer Chris Nikolaidis. They’ve been rocking the Toronto dive bars and DIY basement shows in the Canadian city since. The Bare Minimum were raised up on Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications content and DIY culture. Since their formation in 2010, the band have released two full length albums and three EPs to date. Also over the last ten years, The Bare Minimum have shared the stage with bands such as Meat Wave, No Fun At All, and Adrenalized. The Bare Minimum have also been showcased by fellow Toronto musician Moe Berg, and appeared at the festivals North by Northeast, Canadian Music Week, and Pouzza Fest.

Continue reading The Bare Minimum – Scars and Stripes (Single)

Callum Pitt – Fault Lines (Single)

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: July 23, 2020

Genre: Folk

Label: Humble Angel Records

The singer-songwriter Callum Pitt from Newcastle upon Tyne, England has recently released his brand new single, “Fault Lines.” The powerful single may sound upbeat, catchy, and energetic, but don’t be fooled by these aspects. Callum’s lyrics on “Fault Lines” explores the strong topic of the heightened polarization within the United Kingdom’s political landscape. “Fault Lines” is directed at the UK government and the right-wing press, who have incited hatred and division in the public through their rhetoric over the past few years in particular. Callum’s goal with “Fault Lines” is to encourage the ignorance and prejudice with the UK, and around the world, to be met with education and conversation.

Continue reading Callum Pitt – Fault Lines (Single)

The Jailbirds – Dull My Brain (Single)

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: August 3, 2020

Genre: Rock

Label: Golden Robot Records

Over the last four years together as a band, The Jailbirds who hail from Mississauga, Ontario have been on a trajectory that’s only on it’s way up. As the band continues their success, the band is looking to become one of the many rock exports in recent years to come out of Canada. The Canadian rock trio is formed of vocalist and guitarist Myke Penney, bassist Liam Hills, and drummer Eric Parent. Both Hills and Parent also handle the band’s backing vocal duties.

Penney, Hills, and Parent were the winners of Best Rock Band at the 2018 Mississauga Music Awards, last year seen the release of their debut EP, The Black River, which has drawn a few comparisons to bands considered classic to modern such as Black Sabbath, Soundgarden, Royal Blood and Alter Bridge. The Jailbirds are also heavily influenced from the likes of Guns N’ Roses, Van Halen, Deep Purple, and plenty more. These influences are immediately evident on the initial listen of their brand new single, “Dull My Brain.”

Continue reading The Jailbirds – Dull My Brain (Single)