Category Archives: Canadian

The Free Label – Toys (Single)

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: October 7, 2020

Genre: Pop, R&B

Label: Independent

Toronto’s genre defying and self-described boyband, The Free Label, are back with their newest single “Toys” following a tremendous year that saw the release of their second EP, M.I.A. The Free Label originally formed in 2017 as a funk cover band, before evolving into the multi-instrumental powerhouse you may know them as now, comprised of four charismatic Canadian musicians: Josh Daniel (vocals, guitar, saxophone), Mathew Fantini (bass, vocals), Malik Mungo (guitar, drums, vocals), and Cole Méndez (keys, synth, vocals), who all sing in addition to playing their respective instruments. “Toys” was once again produced by Gabe Galluci, who is best known for working with fellow Canadian artists such as Shawn Mendes, Francesco Yates, Johnny Orlando, and Ezra Jordan.

Continue reading The Free Label – Toys (Single)

Olivia Lunny – To the Ones I Loved EP

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: August 28, 2020

Genre: Pop

Label: AWAL

Manitoba’s very own Olivia Lunny returns with her second EP, To the Ones I Loved. Every song on Olivia’s new EP has its own distinctive traits standing each of them out as their own. The four songs see their lyricism and their writing styles all tie each track into one another. As well, the songs on To the Ones I Loved touch on the various emotions that one feels with love and heartbreak. Additionally, the songs also cover how no love or heartbreak is the same to each individual person. To the Ones I Loved was co-written and produced by AJ Healey (Shaun Frank, Delaney Jane).

Continue reading Olivia Lunny – To the Ones I Loved EP

Faouzia – Stripped EP

By Samuel Stevens

Release Date: August 6, 2020

Genre: Pop

Label: Atlantic Records

The Moroccan-Canadian singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Faouzia (pronounced FOH-ZE-UH) has released her first ever collection of music, Stripped. A compilation EP of intimate, stripped down versions of her past singles that were shed down to their bare essence. The EP collects new and refreshing takes of her fan favourite singles “How It All Works Out,” “Bad Dreams,” “Tears of Gold,” “You Don’t Even Know Me,” “Born Without A Heart,” and the brand new track, “100 Bandaids.” Some of the stripped down versions of the tracks have been previously released prior, but a few are brand new to the EP. All the tracks on Stripped were self-produced by Faouzia herself, except for “100 Bandaids,” which instead was produced by Jordan Waters.

Continue reading Faouzia – Stripped EP